Trade Agreements Between Guyana And Trinidad

The protocol for the implementation of the framework agreement defines, among other things, market access procedures for trade in goods; processing goods and services produced in Free Trade Areas (CSPs) and Export Processing Areas (EPCs); The specific rules for trading in selected agricultural products; Market access for trade in services; Mutual investment promotion and protection; Public procurement temporary entry of businessmen. In addition, it envisages a list of products for which the treatment of the Most Favoured Nation (MFN) will apply until January 1, 2004, when the zero law rule will apply to it. CARICOM and the Dominican Republic Sign a Free Trade Agreement Exporters should ensure that they are familiar with the bilateral trade agreement (trade protocol) between Guyana and Trinidad and Tobago. It is important that exporters follow the guidelines contained in this document. The Caribbean Community (CARICOM) and the Dominican Republic announced on 21 October 1996 their intention to begin free trade negotiations in early 1997. A free trade agreement was signed in the Dominican Republic on 22 August 1998. A protocol for the implementation of the CARICOM/Dominican Republic free trade agreement was signed on 19 March 2000 and signed on 28 April 2000 in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic. The agreement provides for duty-free treatment for the secretaries-general of CARICOM (Barbados, Jamaica, Guyana, Suriname and Trinidad and Tobago) with non-reciprocity for the LDC (Antigua and Barbuda, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, St. Christopher and Nevis, St. Lucia and St.

Vincent and the Grenadines) due to expire in 2005, as stated in Paragrpah 8 of the implementation protocol. Strengthen the importance of bilateral agricultural trade for both countries and sign the Protocol for the implementation of the agreement establishing the free trade area between CARICOM and the Dominican Republic The two nations have many commonalities because of their culture, language, religions and the simultaneous part of the British Empire at some point in their history. Both countries are part of the Commonwealth of Nations and CARICOM. On 26 May 1966, formal diplomatic relations were established between the two nations.